Growing Pains

21 Feb

One thing they never tell you about child raising is that for the rest of your life, at the drop of a hat, you are expected to know your child’s name and how old he or she is. If you want to make it even more difficult, have three kids. Go ahead – I dare ya.

As most parents are trying to hold on to their kids hands for dear life and dread them growing up, I’m on the opposite side of the argument.  Don’t get me wrong, I love, cherish, adore, etc. my children. I do. However my fear isn’t whether or not they gain their independence, move out, or grow up too soon (I think we’re pass this) –  it’s, “are they responsible enough?”

Currently we’re going through some growing pains.

My 17 year old daughter thinks she has it all figured out – today. By tomorrow she will have changed her mind at least 3 times, and completely forget what she was so intently focused on today. This worries me. I see kids her age that seriously have their shit together… planning college visits, working their asses off at mediocre jobs, saving for their futures, and these kids, these little freaks of normal teenager behaviorisms – they know what they want to do with their lives & by golly, they’re on the right track for it.

I’m not trying to hold her hand for as long as I can. I do want her to move out. I do want her to experience life. I do want her to be the best she can be and I do want her to do it on her own.

This fear I have is of her “not having her shit together”. Is this normal?

 

3 Responses to “Growing Pains”

  1. ladybugxxvii February 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    i think this is entirely normal. i was a cookie cutter of bunky. i watched those others with their college visits and their ideals of the futures and i sorta sat about going “what? i have to pick now? this stinks”. she’ll be fine. and you will too. 😉

  2. ♥ Kimberlee ♥ February 21, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Thanks! I just need to hear it sometimes. ❤

  3. Ellen February 22, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Completely Normal!!! Kids all grow up at different paces. I had one that was all together at 7 and the other took till he joined the Army and is now 24 and finally is in a good place. DON’T PANIC. Even if she doesn’t follow the path we all put our exceptions on, doesn’t mean she doesn’t have it together. I threw my son out at 19, he was homeless and not together at all but finished high school and graduated amongst living on the streets and begging for food. Trust me I KNOW for a fact that you have given her great tools and others around her that love her very much have armed her with good tools… she is going to be fine. She may fall and scrape her knees a few times but her knees will heal… sometimes the best things we can do for our kids is nothing… and yes they should all move out when they are teens because they know everything already! Just Sayin… lol I raised two sons by myself! I support Single parents around the world. Its the toughest job you will ever do!

    People Support you Kimberlee!

Leave a Reply

